Welcome

  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • Buhl Observatory SkyWatch
  • We will be closed all day on Sunday, December 17.
cart

You may also like...

21+ Nights
21+ Nights
Café Scientifique
Café Scientifique
Fab Lab Workshops
Fab Lab Workshops
Almost Overnighters!
Almost Overnighters!
Science Sleepovers
Science Sleepovers
Omnimax
Omnimax

Buhl Planetarium

Presented by:

PPG logo

SkyWatch

Visitors are invited to come to SkyWatch at the Henry Buhl, Jr. Planetarium & Observatory and get up-close and personal with amazing celestial objects. SkyWatch happens rain or shine. The evening begins with a virtual tour of the night sky in Buhl Planetarium. Afterward, visitors are welcome to enjoy additional planetarium programs, and if the skies are clear, head up to our observatory! Spot Saturn's rings or details on the lunar surface through our 16-inch Meade LX200 Schmidt-Cassegrain telescope, and chat with our team of expert stargazers.

On evenings that SkyWatch is presented, we offer the program twice. Come early, or come late, as your schedule permits.

Are you an astronomy expert? Bring your own (fully assembled) telescope to share with others, and visit SkyWatch for free!

Cost: $4 for non-members / $2 for members and as an add-on to general admission.

Meet in the first floor of Carnegie Science Center at either 7 pm or 9 pm. A guide will lead you to our second-floor Buhl Planetarium, to start the evening with a virtual tour of the night sky.

1/1/2016 to 12/17/2017

Upcoming Dates

1/1/2016 to 10/8/2016

Friday, Oct. 7
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 10/30/2016

Saturday, Oct. 29 (Spooky SkyWatch)
7pm and 9pm

Special Extras

  • Omnimax concession snacks and hot chocolate available for purchase.
  • Costumes optional.  Come as a ghost, goblin, gas giant, or even your favorite undead astronomer!
  • Stick around and buy a separate ticket for an 11 pm Family Halloween Laser Show!   

Tickets for Spooky SkyWatch, and the laser show are on sale until 10 pm.


1/1/2016 to 11/13/2016

Saturday, Nov. 12
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 11/26/2016

Friday, Nov. 25 (Thanksgiving SkyWatch):
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 12/22/2016

Wednesday, Dec. 21 (Solstice SkyWatch)
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 1/8/2017

Saturday, Jan. 7
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 1/28/2017

Friday, Jan. 27
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 2/5/2017

Saturday, Feb. 4
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 2/15/2017

Tuesday, Feb. 14 (Valentine's Day Date Night)
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 3/5/2017

Saturday, March 4 (Lunar conjunction with Aldebaran)
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 3/18/2017

Saturday, March 18 (St. Patrick’s Day SkyWatch)
7pm and 9pm

1/1/2016 to 4/8/2017

Friday, April 7 (Jupiter at opposition)
8pm and 10pm

1/1/2016 to 4/23/2017

Saturday, April 22
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 5/14/2017

Saturday, May 13
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 5/27/2017

Friday, May 26
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 6/24/2017

Friday, June 23 (Near Summer Solstice SkyWatch)
8:30 pm and 10:30 pm

1/1/2016 to 8/6/2017

Saturday, August 5 (Regatta SkyWatch)
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 8/26/2017

Friday, August 25
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 9/23/2017

Saturday, September 23
(Equinox SkyWatch)
8 pm and 10 pm

1/1/2016 to 10/28/2017

Friday, October 27
(Spooky SkyWatch)
7 pm and 9 pm

1/1/2016 to 11/26/2017

Saturday, November 25
(Thanksgiving Weekend SkyWatch)
7 pm and 9 pm

1/1/2016 to 12/17/2017

Saturday, December 16
7 pm and 9 pm



You may also like... (scroll right)